Seeing

Chris Markiewicz's Blog

This week has me schlepping down to the City Road in Central London to see a Mr Webster, who is my consultant at Moorfields Eye Hospital.  I catch up with him every year and, each time I come away reminded of how much I can see as well as how much I can’t.

I can recall that day 31 years ago almost as if it were yesterday – the eye doctor declaring I had a condition called retinitis pigmentosa (RP) and uttering words like “incurable”, “disease” and “blind”. He made no bones about it, there was every likelihood I would lose my sight in the coming years.

Over three decades later I’m not blind. Do I feel let down? Of course not. I feel relieved, grateful and pretty damn lucky.

My sight is none too brilliant and has indeed degenerated over the decades, but I still have a fairly significant…

View original post 577 more words

Leave a Reply

