Windows 8 Accessibility First Impressions

How to be Blind

I have been able to play with the new Windows 8 for only about an hour so far but here are my first impressions starting with the install process.

Unfortunately upgrading to Windows 8 required many more steps than upgrading a Mac to Mountain Lion.

Microsoft will let you install an Upgrade Assistant which will analyze your programs and see what will still work.

The only real problems came once everything was downloaded and after the final restart.

I use NVDA as my default screen reader and it works great with Windows 8. The problem came when it first started up and Windows wanted me to do a little configuring. I had read that holding the Windows key and pressing either the up arrow or the volume up key would enable Narrator but neither worked.

I had to eventually get my wife to click the skip button and once passed…

View original post 267 more words

Leave a Reply

